AAMAM: You Go Girl! Part 8 of 30

chaka khanCo authored by Lerniece Charles

In 1978, Chaka Khan, in route to going solo from the hit band Rufus recorded and released “I’m Every Woman” written by the perpetual hit making team Nick Ashford and Valarie Simpson. The song was Khan’s first break out song as a solo artist. “I’m Every Woman”’s R&B and disco back beat supported lyrics that empowered women who were, at the time, increasingly entering the workforce and controlling their own destiny.

The song had a tremendous effect on the way it made women feel. For instance my wife loves this song and says it made her feel empowered—she felt like she “could do anything” when she heard it. Today she says she is especially fond of the lyrics:

“I aint braggin’ ‘cause I’m the one

You just ask me ooh and it shall be done

And don’t bother to compare ‘cause I’ve got it, I’ve got it, I’ve got it! Yeah!

You go girl! Happy AAMAM!

Leave a Reply

